Former Premier League top referee Mark Clattenburg has expressed surprise that Manchester United were denied a penalty in Sunday’s 0-0 draw with Chelsea at Stamford Bridge.
United were feeling hard-done-by after Callum Hudson-Odoi’s handball inside the box went was not punished.
The winger challenged for a loose ball with Mason Greenwood and the ball bounced up to touch the youngster’s hand. Referee Stuart Attwell was called to the monitor and VAR recommended he award a spot-kick.
Attwell stuck with his gut and Hudson-Odoi went unpunished, leaving Sportsmail columnist Clattenburg baffled.
“I am amazed Manchester United were not awarded a penalty in the first half for the clear handball by Callum Hudson-Odoi.
“The Chelsea player’s arm was up in an unnatural position and the ball hit his hand.
“VAR Chris Kavanagh thought referee Stuart Attwell had missed a clear penalty so he gave him the opportunity to review it at his pitch-side monitor
“How Attwell did not…
Source: Complete Sports