Tribunal sacks NNPP’s Abba Yusuf, declares APC’s Gawuna winner in Kano


Tribunal sacks NNPP?s Abba Yusuf, declares APC?s Gawuna winner in Kano

The Kano Governorship Election Petition Tribunal has sacked Governor Abba Kabir Yusuf and declared the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Nasir Gawuna, winner of the March 18 election.


Recall that INEC had on March 20, declared Yusuf who contested on the platform of the New Nigerian Peoples Party (NNPP)winner of the election. According to the results released by Ahmad Dokko Ibrahim, the returning officer, Yusuf polled a total of 1,019,602 votes, while Yusuf Gawuna of the APC secured 890,705 votes.


Dissatisfied by the outcome of the election, Ganuwa and his party approached the tribunal.


Delivering its judgment today, the three-man panel ordered the withdrawal of certificate of return which INEC presented to Governor Yusuf and directed a certificate of return to be issued to Gawuna. The court deducted 165,663 votes from Gov Yusuf total as invalid votes, stating that the ballot papers (165,663) were not stamped or signed and therefore declared invalid.

Source: Linda Ikeji