Nigeria to launch tremor centres in FCT


Abuja earth tremor

By Francisca Oluyole

Four seismic stations are to be established to monitor Earth tremor and quake in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

The Nigerian Geological Survey Agency (NGSA) will established the seismic stations.

Alhaji Abubakar Bwari, the Minister of State, Mines and Steel Development, made this known while inaugurating the NGSA earthquake monitoring command and control centre sited at the headquarters in Abuja on Tuesday.

Bwari said the four stations were sited at the Nasarawa State University in Keffi, University of Abuja in Gwagwalada, Veritas University in Bwari and the NGSA command and control centre.

“It is my pleasure to commission the NGSA Earthquake monitoring command and control centre at the agency’s headquarters in Abuja while expecting the completion of the other three stations within a very short time.

“This whole initiative could not have been possible without the excellent collaboration between NGSA and the three…

Read More…..NAN