NDSG to honour Buhari, Obasanjo, Jonathan as democracy Icons


Members of the National Democracy Stakeholders Group NSDG during the briefing

President Muhammadu Buhari, former Presidents Olusegun Obasanjo and Goodluck Jonathan are among former leaders who are to bag the ‘Icon of Democracy’ Award in June.

The award, conferred by the National Democracy Stakeholders Group (NDSG) will be part of activities for the launch of a Book Chain and the history and democratic advancement of Nigeria.

Scheduled to hold on the 27th day of June 2019, the ceremony would also mark the public presentation and unveiling of the Book Chain comprising 7 titles.

Briefing newsmen in Abuja on Tuesday, Kletsaint Akor, Chief Executive (NDSG) said that event was being held to mark two Decades of Sustained Democracy in Nigeria.

“The event is proposed to be jointly chaired by former Presidents Olusegun Obasanjo, GCFR, and Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, GCFR. Nigeria’s current President and Commander-in-Chief, Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR is expected to be the Special Guest…

Source: News Agency of Nigeria