PDP governors congratulate new NASS leadership


Bayelsa State Governor Seriake Dickson, Chairman PDP Governors’ Forum

By Philomina Attah

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Governors’ Forum, has congratulated the newly elected leadership of the ninth National Assembly, inaugurated on Tuesday.

The Chairman of the Forum and Gov. Seriake Dickson of Bayelsa gave the congratulatory message in a statement issued by his Special Adviser on Public Affairs, Mr Daniel Alabrah, on Wednesday in Abuja.

Dickson urged the new NASS leadership to guarantee the independence of the legislature in accordance with democratic ethos, as well ensure that the rights of Nigerians were defended and well protected.

The Senate on Tuesday elected Ahmed Lawan as its President and Ovie Omo-Agege as Deputy Senate President, while Femi Gbajabiamila was elected as Speaker of House of Representatives and Ahmed Wase as Deputy Speaker.

Dickson said  that what transpired in the National Assembly on Tuesday was democracy in action, urging them to be conscious…

Source: News Agency of Nigeria