OOU students declare Monday lecture free, accident victims identified


Abiodun Onafuye/Abeokuta
The bodies of three of the 12 persons who died in a ghastly motor accident that occurred Friday on Sagamu-Benin expressway were taken away Saturday for burial by their families.
The three included the driver of the bus,who was identified as Lukman Ola Adekeye.
The other two are a fresh graduate of Physics, Dairo Olatunji Michael and a freshman, identified as Aminat Adebayo.Scene of the tragic accident on Sagamu-Benin expressway
She had gone to the Olabisi Onabanjo University in Ago-Iwoye, to complete her Post Jamb form in the school and was on her way back home.
A container truck collided with the bus load of students, going to Sango-Otta, killing 12 persons. The bus was said to have taken off from Ago-Iwoye, according to an official of the Federal Road Safety Commission. But another account said the bus took off from Ijebu-Ode.
There was only one survivor, Akinbo Laughter Ibukun, a Chemistry student, who is receiving treatment at Babcock University Hospital, in Ilishan.
The Chairman, National Association of Nigerian Students,NANS,Ogun state,Comrade Okikiola Ogunsola, identified the other deceased as; Odubanjo Eunice Oluwadamilola Pol. Science 200 level, Ogunnoiki Omolade Mariam EFM (History) 100 level, Aribiola Yetunde Elizabeth Biochemistry 100 level, Adams Suliat Oluwatobi Accounting, 100 level, Pampam Funmilayo Latifat Chemical Science 100 level, Asade Christianah Ibukun Law 200 level.
He said the students were identified through their voters cards, receipts, driver licences, school IDs and text books.
There were four ID cards seen around the accident scene belonging to Kutu Ayonimofe Emmanuel, Ayoola Sheriff Gbolahan, Akinyemi Remilekun and Akeem Kazeem. The student leader said he was not sure whether they were the correct identities for the remaining occupants of the bus.
Ogunmola said the lone survivor is getting adequate care at the Babcock Hospital.
“She is getting well because it was just a minor fracture …Read More

Source:: PM Newspaper