Senate to screen Service Chiefs Thursday


L-R: Chief of Air Staff, Air-Vice Marshal Sadique Abubakar; Chief of Naval Staff, Rear Admiral Ibok-Ete Ekwe Iba; Chief of Army Staff, Major-General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Defence Intelligence, Air Vice Marshal Morgan Riku and the National Security Adviser (NSA) Major General Babagana Mongunu (rtd)
The President of the Senate, Bukola Saraki, on Wednesday, announced that the Senate would commence screening of newly appointed Service Chiefs during plenary on Thursday.
Saraki, who disclosed this during plenary on the floor of the upper chamber, urged all serving senators to be in attendance and to be prompt, adding that the screening would begin at 10:00 a.m.
The president of the senate further announced the constitution of the Senate Selection Committee, Rules and Business Committee, Ethics and Privileges Committee and ad hoc Committee on Publicity.
According to him, the 18-member Senate Selection Committee, which is charged with the responsibility of coordinating other committees, is to be headed by Sen. Ibrahim Gobir (APC Sokoto East).
The Rules and Business Committee will be headed by Sen. Babajide Omoworare (APC Osun East), while Senate Leader, Sen. Ali Ndume, will be his Deputy as Sen. Kabir Marafa (APC Zamfara Central), Sen. Barnabas Gemade (APC Benue) and five others are members.
Sen. Samuel Anyanwu (APC Imo east) is to head the 11-member Ethics and Privileges Committee and he is to be deputised by the Deputy Leader of the Senate, Sen. Bala Ibn Na’Allah.
Meanwhile, the five-man Ad Hoc Committee on Publicity will be headed by Sen. Dino Melaye (APC Kogi West), with Sen. Ben Bruce (APC Bayelsa East) and Sen. Eyinaya Abaribe (PDP Abia South) as members. …Read More

Source:: PM Newspaper