Obasanjo, Anyaoku, Richard Joseph to discuss democracy, development


Chief Olusegun Obasanjo
Former President Olusegun Obasanjo, Chief Emeka Anyaoku, former Secretary General of the Commonwealth and a leading authority on Nigerian affairs, Professor Richard Joseph of the Northwestern University, United States of America, will lead a pack of academics, scholars and activists to discuss Nigeria’s current challenges in all spheres.
Under the aegis of an international conference with the theme “Getting government to work for democracy and development: an agenda for change”, which holds at the International Conference Cemtre, Ibadan, on February 1 and 2, 2016, the former president will lead other scholars to discuss the way out of the quagmire.
The conference, a maiden effort of the Ibadan School of Government and Public Policy, according to its Executive Vice Chairman, Dr. Tunji Olaopa, will seek to fill in the noticeable missing gaps in governance and public policies.
According to the release, Professor Joseph, writer of the authoritative book on Nigeria’s Second Republic entitled Nigeria and Prebendal Politics, will be delivering a paper on State and democratic development in Africa: The Nigerian challenge, while the governor of Oyo State, Abiola Ajimobi, the Pro-Chancellor of the Pan-Atlantic University, Dr. Christopher Kolade, former Head of Service of the Federation, Professor Oladapo Afolabi, Vice Chancellor, University of Ibadan, Professor Abel Idowu Olayinka and Professor Shuaib Ibrahim, President of the Nigerian Political Science Association (NPSA) will be delivering goodwill messages at the conference.
The release further stated that one of the issues that the conference will deliberate upon is titled The economy: What is to be done? Economic experts such as Professor Osita Ogbu, professor of economics and Director, Institute of Development, Professor Akin Iwayemi, ex-President, Institute of Development Studies, Professor Pat Utomi, Dr. Ayo Teriba and Professor D. O. Ajakaiye, former DG NISER are discussants of this topic.
Minister of Solid Minerals, …Read More

Source:: PM Newspaper