Bayelsa governorship election petition moves sitting to Abuja


Okafor Ofiebor/Port Harcourt
Seriake Dickson was declared winner of Bayelsa polls by INEC
President of the Court of Appeal Justice Justice Zainab Adamu Bulkachuwa has ordered the re-location of the Bayelsa State Election petition Tribunal which was earlier scheduled to hold in Yenagoa, the Bayelsa State capital to Court 14 Inyanya of the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja.
In a press release by the secretary governorship election petition tribunal, Adekunla I Sunmonu Esq., litigants were advised to fill their court processes at High Court 14 of the Federal Capital Territory Inyanya.
It also stated that the relocation takes place with immediate effect.
Timipre Sylva, APC governorship candidate in Bayelsa State
It will be recalled that the Independent National Electoral commission (INEC) had after the completion of the rescheduled Southern Ijaw Local Government Area election on January 9th 2016 declared the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Governor Seriake Dickson winner of the December 5 polls.
But dissatisfied with the decision of INEC, Timipre Sylva, governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress filed a petition seeking that the governorship election petition tribunal declare him winner since according to him the first result collated by INEC from Southern Ijaw Local Government Area upturned the latter which was won by PDP.
The tribunal is yet to begin sitting. …Read More

Source:: PM Newspaper