Senate reshuffles leadership of 17 committees

Senator Bukola Saraki

Senator Bukola Saraki

The Senate on Thursday in Abuja reshuffled the leadership of 17 out of 66 Standing Committees.

The President of the Senate, Dr Bukola Saraki, who made this known, said that the Spokesman of the Senate Unity Forum, Sen. Kabir Marafa, should take over the chairmanship of the Senate Committee on Petroleum (Downstream).

Also, Sen. Oluremi Tinubu, who was Chairman Committee on Women Affairs took over the headship of the Senate Committee on Environment from Sen. Olaka Nwogu, who is awaiting the rerun of his election.

Saraki also announced the removal of Sen. Babajide Omoworare as Chairman of Committee on Rules and Business and made him Chairman of Senate Committee on Legislative Compliance, a committee that was before now, not in existence.

Sen. Hope Uzodinma was removed as Chairman Committee on Aviation and made Chairman Committee on Customs, while Sen. Aliero Adamu, who was Chairman Committee on Import Duties took over from Sen Uzodinma.

Furthermore, Sen. Barau Jibrin was removed as head of Petroleum Downstream and made Head of Tertiary Institutions, while Sen. Binta Garba, who was head of Tertiary Institutions was made Head of Women Affairs.

Equally, Sen. Joshua Dariye, who was Head of Solid Minerals was made Head of Public Procurement, while Sen. James Manager, who was Head of Power is now Head of Solid Minerals.

Also, Sen. Enyinannya Abaribe, who was Head of Information is now Head of Power and Sen. Adokwe Suleiman was made Head of Information and Orientation.

In the same vein, Sen. Baba Kaka-Garbai was made Head of Rules and Business, while Sen. Tijjani Kaura was made Head of Federal Character and Sen. Suleiman Hunkuyi was made Head of National Identity.

Furthermore, Sen. Ahmed Ogembe was made Vice Chairman Marine Transport, Sen. Ovie Omo Agege was made Vice Chairman and Sen. Philip Aduda, is made Vice Chairman Petroleum Downstream.

The Senate …Read More

Source:: PM Newspaper