Reps to refer Jibrin to EFCC for investigation

Hon. Jibrin Abdulmumini

Hon. Jibrin Abdulmumini

Chairman, House of Representatives Committee on Media and Public Affairs, Abdulrazak Namdas says ex-Chairman of Appropriation Committee, Abdulmumin Jibrin will be referred to the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, for investigation

Namdas said Jibrin was relieved of his position for abuse of the budgetary process.

He said “the leadership is also in receipt of complaints about his activities as Chairman of Finance Committee in the 7th Assembly, which had potentials to embarrass the House.

“Investigations found that from 2011 – 2015, Jibrin domiciled with Hadejia – Jama’are River Basin Authority and few other MDAs, some of the allocations meant for his former Finance Committee members.

“He was alleged to have aided the use of front companies that collected funds without executing most of the projects.

“The projects have been compiled and will be referred to the anti-graft agencies to establish why the projects were fully paid for and not executed.

“Who collected the funds and why has Jibrin not raised any alarm about the non-execution of the projects even now?”

According to Namdas, Jibrin had initially inflated the 2016 Budget by adding about N250 billion to the total figure as submitted by Mr President.

“This, the NASS leadership outrightly rejected as a form of financial recklessness and inability to appreciate the dwindling resources available to government necessitating that we act prudently.

The House spokesman noted that “the leadership of both chambers, including the appropriations and finance committees are normally and traditionally allocated certain percentages.

“They are allocated certain percentages of these funds, for inclusion in the appropriation bill for projects.

“The remaining is distributed to members of the National Assembly for inclusion of their preferred projects in the budget. This has also been the established tradition over the years.

“For the avoidance of doubt, the 8th House of Representatives under the leadership of Rt. Hon. Yakubu …Read More

Source:: PM Newspaper