Buhari sacks JAMB registrar, 16 others

President Buhari

President Buhari

President Muhammadu Buhari’s led Federal Government has sacked chief executives of 17 parastatals and agencies under the Ministry of Education, including the Registrar, Joint Admissions and Matriculations Board (JAMB), Prof Dibu Ojerinde.

A statement issued on Monday in Abuja, North Central Nigeria by the Deputy Director of Press and Public Relations in the Education Ministry, Ben Bem Goong said 17 top executives in the Education ministry had been relieved of their appointments.

According to the statement, four Chief Executives whose tenures were yet to elapse were retained, while others were sacked.

The affected top echelons had been replaced with immediate effect, according to the statement.

The 17 agencies affected in the mass sack and the new Chief Executives appointed included the National Universities Commission, Prof Abubakar Adamu Rasheed; Nigerian Institute for Education Planning and Administration, Prof, Mrs. Lilian Salami; Universal Basic Education, Dr. Hameed Bobboyi and National Library of Nigeria, Prof. Lanre Aina.

The Secretary-General, Supreme Council for Islamic Affairs in Nigeria, Prof Ishaq Oloyede has been named Registrar/Chief Executive of JAMB, while the National Institute of Nigerian Languages has Prof Chinyere Ohiri-Aniche as its Chief Executive Officer, CEO.

To head the National Business and Technical Examinations Board is Prof Isioma Isiugo-Abanihe; Teachers Registration Council of Nigeria, Prof Sunday Josiah Ajiboye; Computer Registration Council of Nigeria, Afolabi Aderinto and National Commission for Colleges of Education, Prof Bappah Aliyu.

Others are: National Examinations Council, Prof Charles Uwakwe; National Commission for Mass Literacy, Adult and Non-Formal Education, Prof Abba Aladu and Nomadic Education Commission, Prof Bashir Usman.

There also Dr. Abdullahi Bichi Baffa who heads the Tertiary Education Trust Fund; National Teachers Institute, Prof Garba Dahuwa Azare; Librarian Registration Council of Nigeria, Prof Michael Afolabi; and National Mathematical Centre, Prof Steven Ejugwu Onah.

Those retained, included the Nigeria Educational Research and Development Council, Prof. Samaila Junaidu; Nigerian French Language …Read More

Source:: PM Newspaper