APC group rejects Dogara’s zoning, insists on Gbajabiamila as House Leader


The leadership tussle over the appointment of principal officers in the House of Representatives may have deepened as All Progressives Congress (APC) lawmakers loyal to the defeated speakership candidate, Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila have rejected the zoning formula proposed by Speaker Yakubu Dogara.
The group insisted that the party’s position must be obeyed.
Dogara had last Thursday written to the APC’s national chairman, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun notifying him of his decision to zone the position of Majority Leader to North-West; Chief Whip to South-South, Deputy Leader to North-Central and Deputy Whip to South- East.
The party’s arrangement was that Gbajabiamila from South-West be made leader, Hon. Pally Iriase from South-South be named Chief Whip, while Deputy Leader should go to Alhassan Ado Doguwa from North-West.
According to Oyegun’s letter, Hon. Mohammed Monguno from North-East, who lost the deputy speakership should be made Deputy Whip.
But in a counter-letter dated July 18 titled “Nomination of Principal Officers in the House of Representatives” and addressed to the national chairman, the Gbajabiamila camp under the auspices of APC Loyalists Group rejected in its entirety reasons adduced by Dogara for defying the party’s sharing arrangement, insisting that the party is supreme and its directives must be obeyed and respected.
The letter signed by the group’s leader, Hon. Nasiru Sani Zangon-Daura (APC, Katsina), maintained that the party had made so much concession in favour of Dogara, warning that “enough is enough”.
The letter reads: “Our attention has been drawn to the letter written to you by the Speaker, Hon. Yakubu Dogara in response to your letter to him almost a month prior.
“We find Hon. Dogara’s letter fraught with several fundamental flaws in his analysis and interpretation of the Constitution and House rules. This is to set the records straight. “This party has bent over backwards for the Speaker and enough …Read More

Source:: New Mail