Bayelsa agog as Alaibe, Lokpobiri lead PDP heavy weights into APC


The Bayelsa State capital, Yenagoa was brought to a standstill on Saturday, as thousands of Bayelsans besieged the Samson Siasia Stadium to witness the formal declaration of over 1, 500 leaders and members of the People’s Democratic Party in the state to the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC.
The group of defectors were led by the embattled state chairman, Col Sam Inokoba (rtd) and the former Managing Director of the Niger Delta Development Commission NDDC, Timi Alaibe.
Others who dumped the PDP include the immediate past Senator representing Bayelsa West, Senator Heneiken Lokpobiri, former Acting Governors Nestor Binabo and Werinipre Seibarugu, Senator John Brambaifa, Senator Clever Ikisipo, former House of Representatives member, Dr. Stella Dorgu, former NDDC chairman, Prof. Tarila Tebepah, the former Reps members – Christopher Enai.
Also present were former house of representatives members Warman Ogoriba, Bonus Indiamaowei, Nelson Belief, Nadu Karibo, former Secretary to the State Government, Chief Gideon Ekeowe, Dr. Imoru Kubo, Capt Matthew Karimu among others.
The defectors were received by the APC National Chairman, John Odigie-Oyegun at a carnival like rally dubbed Mega Rally held at the Samson Siasia Stadium.
Odigie Oyegun declared that with the quality of defectors into the APC from the PDP in Bayelsa State, the ruling PDP under the leadership of Governor Seriake Dickson has been decapitated.
Oyegun said the mass defection will go down as a milestone in the state political calendar as it marked the freedom of Bayelsans from bad governance and impunity.
He said “the PDP is empty, who is left in the PDP? Nobody. The People in Bayelsa is making history for the South South zone. The APC leaders in Bayelsa State are very loyal and fought gallantly against the false claim that “it is our own.”
“When they overcame such false campaign, their eyes opened and they saw recklessness, under performance and failure. …Read More

Source:: New Mail