Six Nigerians make CNN Multichoice African Journalist 2016 finalist list

    Six Nigerians made the list of finalists in the prestigious CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2016 Competition announced today, July 18, by Ferial Haffajee, Chair of the independent judging panel.
    The competition received 1637 entries this year – a record number – from 38 countries across the continent, including French and Portuguese-speaking Africa.
    The finalists will enjoy an all-expense paid four day programme of workshops, media forums and networking in Johannesburg, South Africa, culminating in a Gala Award Ceremony in October 2016.
    Tony Maddox, Executive Vice-President and Managing Director of CNN International said in a statement:
    “This year has seen a record number of entries for the CNN MultiChoice African Journalist Awards, from a diverse array of countries across the continent. The passion which African journalists display for telling compelling and top class stories knows no bounds. Once more, CNN proudly continues its commitment to encouraging inspired journalistic excellence with these awards.”

    See list of the 38 finalists from 14 countries:
    Adedayo Eriye Oketola, Saturday Punch, Nigeria
    Aderonke Bello,, Nigeria
    Ancillar Mangena, Forbes Africa, South Africa
    Asha Ahmed Mwilu & Rashid Idi, Kenya Television Network, Kenya
    Ati Metwaly, Al Ahram Weekly, Egypt
    Bento Venâncio, Jornal Domingo, Mozambique
    Bidossèssi Appolinaire Agoïnon, Office de Radiodiffusion et Télévision du Bénin, Benin
    Cheboite Kigen, Daily Nation Newspaper, Kenya
    Chika Oduah, Nigeria, Freelancer at African Media Initiative, Kenya
    Cleófas Viagem, STV, Mozambique
    Conan Daniel Businge & Gerald Tenywa, New Vision, Uganda
    Coulibaly Zoumana, Le Patriote, Ivory Coast
    Diana Neille, Richard Poplak, Shaun Swingler and Sumeya Gasa, Daily Maverick Chronicle, South Africa
    Dominic Omondi, The Standard, Kenya
    Eromo Egbejule, Freelancer at Ventures Africa, Nigeria
    Faten Hayed, El Watan, Algeria
    Fidelto Emidio Bata, STV, Mozambique
    Folashade Adebayo, The Punch, Nigeria
    Garreth van Niekerk, City Press, South Africa
    Isaac Otidi Amuke, Commonwealth Writers, Kenya
    James Oatway, The Sunday Times, South Africa
    Jay Caboz, Forbes Africa, South …Read More

    Source:: Linda Ikeji Blog