BREAKING: Nigeria, 10 others taken off UK’s Omicron red list


Red list Omicron Covid-19 not in Nigeria yet; we’ve ramped up surveillance — FG

 The United Kingdom, UK, has taken all 11 countries off England’s travel red list. It will be made official tomorrow, Wednesday, the health secretary, Sajid Javid, has announced.

The decision means England will no longer require hotel quarantine for travellers from Angola, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

However, testing measures — a pre-arrival negative test and then another PCR test after arrival — remain in place for all travellers.

The health secretary has set out in Parliament the rationale for ending the travel red list, saying that as the new variant is spreading in the UK, travel restrictions are “now less effective in slowing the incursion of Omicron from abroad”.

READ ALSO: Omicron: We’re working to reverse UK ban on Nigerian travelers, says FG

Travel rules are set by the four nations of the UK independently, but the other nations’ governments often follow proposals from…

Source: Vanguard Newspaper

Get the Latest Business Tenders and Contracts Information